We rarely ask whether the flour is vegan or not. Perhaps we take for granted the wheat is a plant-based material and the question rarely crosses our mind. However knowing how the commerce of any product may compromise what we believe it to be, every product is subject to scrutiny.

In this article, we will answer to the question, “Is flour vegan?”

We will also explore other areas of interest in flour in relation to a vegan diet.


  • How vegan is Flour?
  • Are there non-vegan additives in the Flour?
  • Is Bone Char used to make Flour?
  • Is Gluten-Free Flour Vegan?
  • 7 types of Gluten-Free Vegan Flours
  • Bonus: Make Vegan Chicken from flour


For most people, the most common assumption of flour as previously mentioned is a powder formed by the grinding of wheat. In reality, however, flour can be created from a sundry of starchy and fatty plant foods.

Hence besides wheat flour, there is almond flour and oat flour, all of which have their unique properties.

Some flours may be dubbed “whole wheat,” to indicate the preservation of the whole grain of the plant during the grinding process.

This does not mean that flour only comes from wheat or that wheat is the only ingredient required to make it.

To answer the main question of the topic we will say, flour is indeed vegan most of the time. However, we will do our best to highlight the exceptions.


Niacin, Riboflavin, Folic acid, and Thiamine Mononitrate are some of the vitamins and minerals added to flour and they are all vegan.

Iron is also another additive though it is not easy to determine if it’s from vegan or non-vegan sources.

There are many plant sources that produce iron, thus there are no strong reasons to believe the iron would be the only iron deduced compound.

Again, this depends on the manufacturer.


The question of whether bone char is used to make flour is a very important one.

We have seen bone char is used in the production of some sugar products after all. However, at the moment there are no credible sources or factory documents that affirm that position.

Moreover, if recollections of people who have actually worked in flour producing to go by are to be trusted, they also do not state that they used it.

Unless there is proof of non-disclosure agreements on its use, there should thus be no reason to claim for a fact that it is used.


Yes, gluten-free flour is vegan and most certainly gluten-free (as the name insists).

Before we go any further, it must be noted that it is not suitable for people with celiac disease. Apart from that, it is very healthy flour for which gluten is absent.

Often it’s made from starchy vegetables, coconuts, gluten-free grains, or coconuts.

Although for the most part gluten-free usually meant, vegan however there have been a few exceptions in recent times. It is always wise to research and check the ingredients listed on the package.

Other than that it is most probable that most gluten-free flours are simultaneously vegan (and we have listed some of them by specific names in this post).


1.Oat Flour

This is simple vegan flour you can process at home by using a blender or a food processor to grind dry oats.

This type of flour is very compatible with gluten-free pastries and cakes and can also be a good ingredient for just about any confectionaries you can bake with all-purpose flour.

2.Konjac Flour

Konjac flour is vegan flour derived from an Asian plant dubbed Amorphophallus konjac.

This flour is mostly found used in thickening liquids, noodles, bread, and cakes and is created by grinding the corns of the plant which are rich in starch.

3.Sorghum Flour

The sorghum plant produces a vegan and gluten-free grain which can substitute many glutinous flours. Xanthan gum is often used to bind it as it often needs a binding agent.

Xanthan gum itself as an ingredient is derived from bacterial fermentation of certain sugars. However, be assured that all ingredients are 100% vegan.

4.Coconut Flour

Coconut flour is vegan and very much gluten-free. It is rich in fiber and can be implemented in any baked good. The most common usage of this type of flour is for low carbohydrate foods, cakes, and bread.

5.Rice Flour

Rice flour is vegan and also gluten-free. It’s created through the grinding of either brown or white rice. If you’ve ever asked, “What is the best vegan gluten-free baking mix?”

Well, rice flour falls in that category as one of the most favored ones. It is recommended for gluten-free muffins.

As aforementioned, there are no non-vegan additives to it unless stated by the manufacturer.

6.Almond Flour

Another gluten-free vegan flour is almond flour. This flour is created by the crushing and grinding of almonds. The main process involves the removal of their peels so as to harness them in a clearer form. It is often favored in confectionaries that have a higher constitution of fat.

So if your question is, “Is almond flour vegan?”

Certainly, all components of almond flours are from vegan sources and they can be trusted.

7.Malted Barley Flour

If you are asking yourself, “Is malted barley flour vegan?”

The answer is a big yes. Malting of barley flour simply means that the barley is made to germinate a bit. The outcome of this is an aromatic flavor that can be used in vegan bread and other bakery confectionaries.

Malted barley flour is definitely 100% vegan.


Is self-rising flour vegan?

All ingredients added to self-rising flour are largely vegan.

Is bleached flour vegan?

Bleached flour is vegan. The only difference is that a bleaching agent has been added to it to further whiten it. However, none of those bleaching agents are from non-vegan sources.
So if your question is,” Can a vegan use bleached flour?” the answer is yes!


Final Thoughts

As we have explored in this article, flour is a vegan product and is not only made from wheat. It can come from different ingredients and thus the health benefits are also based on the individual properties of each type.

For instance, whole wheat flour is said to lower constipation and lower blood cholesterol whilst almond flour is rich in Vitamin E and antioxidants, which of course are good anti-aging agents.

The good news is flour does not have to be excluded from the vegan lifestyle. It is very much part and parcel.

Feel free to continue to read other articles on this resource for great tips and insights on how to improve the planet by supporting vegan foods.

Leave a Comment