What you will learn in this article?
- Summary – Is Nutella vegan? Should vegans consume it?
- What is Nutella?
- Ingredients in Nutella.
- Vegan Alternatives to Nutella spread.
- Make your own Nutella spread at home.
I will say it one go..ahhh!
Nutella is not Vegan-friendly. Milk, Cane sugar and use of Palm oil make it non-vegan.
Yes, I included Palm oil because it is not cruelty free yet derived purely from plants.
Take a moment, and think about the first name of your monthly grocery list.
Is it a chocolate spread named Nutella? Wondering how we guessed it, right?
Well, it is not really that difficult guessing the most famous spread in the world.
From being a compulsory household stable to being used in the menus of the biggest of restaurants in the world, Nutella has established itself as the universal chocolate confectionery on the face of the earth.
What is Nutella?
Fifty years since its creation, it is fair to say that Nutella has done good for itself and its makers, and the best part is that we have still not seen the peak of its popularity.
Below, we will brief you about what it is and what makes it so popular.
By definition, Nutella is a sweetened hazelnut cocoa spread that is made by an Italian company named Ferrero, which is also the third-largest manufacturer of chocolate.
Originally made in world war 2, Nutella came about when baker Pietro Ferrero added hazelnuts to chocolate spreads on the cocoa shortage in Italy.
It was initially named “Giandujot” and was later renamed SuperCrema in 1951 when it took the shape of a spread.
1964 is the notable year for its popularity, as Michelle Ferrero renamed it “Nutella,” which started its popularity and worldwide success.
Generally classified as a dessert topping, what truly makes Nutella special is the versatility of its taste.
It is so versatile that it can be used as a dessert topping, breakfast spread, and can be eaten even directly from the jar.
It is also important to mention here that, like every other food consumable, it is imperative that a consumer only buys and eats something after careful examination of its ingredients.
Hence we will below explore the ingredients used in making our favorite spread.
Ingredients of Nutella
The largest component of the product, the sugar used in Nutella, is refined cane sugar.
This cane sugar might be refined through bone char, an animal derived filter.
Made out of vegetables, Palm oil is used in Nutella to create volume and create the texture and spread ability of the product.
Palm oil is vegan but not cruelty-free. This is because Palm plantation leads to deforestation and habitat loss for animals.
However, Nutella officially claims to use 100% RSPO certified sustainable Palm Oil.
But, most environmentalists are of the apprehension that this sustainable palm oil is not enough to prevent environmental and habitat losses.
Hazelnuts are another ingredient that gives it its taste. Around 50 nuts are used to manufacture each Nutella jug.
Made out of cocoa nuts harvested mainly in western Africa, these are responsible for giving Nutella their chocolaty taste.
Skimmed milk powder:
Another important ingredient, which is made by removing water from pasteurized non-fat milk, this powdered milk is used for the consistency of the product.
It’s a type of emulsifier and made out of soybeans. Lecithin helps the ingredients to stand out and separate from each other.
Nutella also contains an artificial form of vanillin, a compound found in vanilla bean extract.
So, Is Nutella vegan? Should you eat it?
Having infused itself everywhere around us, it was inevitable to hear the vegan community eventually ask if Nutella is vegan or not.
Here is a snippet from Google Trend that supports the claim.
Hence we will below analyze whether it is okay for vegans to consume or not.
Before starting this analysis, it is fair to say at once that Nutella is not vegan, mainly due to its ingredients being animal-derived.
For example, the powdered milk used directly contradicts vegan beliefs, as the milk is derived from animals.
While powdered milk is not liquid milk, it is still derived from animals and hence is a source of the cruelty of animals and a contradiction of vegan beliefs.
One would think that the cane sugar used in making Nutella is made out of plants and is hence is vegan, but unfortunately, that is not the case.
The process used to make cane sugar involves the use of bone char, which requires animal cruelty in its manufacture and is hence a source of concern for vegans.
While palm oil is not anti-vegan and is made out of plants, it has many ethical accusations on the production processes used to make it, with authorities claiming it is extremely bad for the environment. And hence this is why a large proportion of vegans abstain from its use.
Hence, to summarize,
Nutella is not vegan and does not look like it will be in the distant future.
This is unfortunate news for Nutella lovers who are vegan.
Still, we will below provide you with a few vegan alternatives, so you can satisfy your taste buds while also being in line with your sentiments.
Vegan alternatives to nutella
100% vegan and made out of organic ingredients, this chocolate spread has a beautiful taste and texture. Similar to Nutella, it can be used and eaten in various ways.
Winner of the free-from and boom award in 2017, this dairy-free and vegan spread promises fine quality due to its high-quality ingredients, for example, the toasted almonds from Northern Italy.
Perfect addition to your grocery list, this nutty spread infuses traditional chocolate spread the nutty flavor and texture for people who enjoy it.
Including just four ingredients, this vegan spread is made up of nuts made in Brazil, hence the name.
This cute-looking pot of chocolate tastes just as good as it looks. It has a different taste to Nutella, but still one you will enjoy. It also does not contain any of the fourteen main allergens.
Make your own Nutella spread at home.
Here is a short video to make it easy for you.
No, Nutella is not vegan as it contains milk, cane sugar and the use of palm oil makes it non-cruelty-free.
Yes, Nutella is totally vegetarian friendly as it does not have any sort of animal meat.
Sugar, Palm Oil, Hazelnuts, Cocoa, Skimmed milk powder, Soy Lecithin, Vanillin
It’s not very nutritious and high in sugar, calories and fat.