IS RAMEN VEGAN? 5 VEGAN RAMEN BRANDS TO SAVOR WITH

IS RAMEN VEGAN?

The Asians are famous when it comes to creating mouthwatering delicacies. Among some of their tasty and aromatic dishes is ramen.

It is a noodle soup from Japan that has stolen the hearts of foodies in the western world.

Of course with so much popularity it becomes important for us to foot the question, “Is Ramen Vegan?”.

Traditionally, wheat flour and salt are the components needed to make ramen.

This is done by creating dough out of these ingredients which is then sliced and steamed.

Given this information, we can conclude that traditional ramen is definitely vegan.

As you may have guessed, the commercial production of ramen is bound to contain other ingredients.

Some are preservatives and some are flavorings. We intend to put those under a microscope.

It is also important to note that, even in the event that the noodles themselves are vegan, the accompanying flavor sachets may sometimes contain ingredients that are otherwise.

IS VEGAN RAMEN HEALTHY?

Whilst we have already disqualified cheaply made commercial ramen for its additional additives we can safely say home-prepared vegan ramen is healthy and balanced if done right.

One just needs to be wary of the type of noodles they use.

It is always wise to check packaging descriptions and ingredients.

If you use brown rice or whole wheat vegan noodles you stand to benefit from the fiber content which adds roughage to your digestion. 

Starches are also a good energy source as long as they are not in excess.

The vegetables will provide a lot of healthy micro-nutrients which are required for various bodily and brain functions.

Vitamins and minerals regulate a lot of physiological functions such as hormone secretion in the body.

The plant-based protein may sometimes contain all essential amino acids.

Due to the natural fiber plant-based protein, an individual can stay energized longer. Thus if you have vegan ramen in the morning its energy can be sustained for longer periods of time than its non-vegan alternatives.

WHAT ARE SOME VEGAN NOODLE BRANDS

Since a vegan noodle brand is a prerequisite for making healthy vegan ramen, you may already be wondering which noodle brands are vegan. We have provided below a list of noodle brands that have been certified as vegan by credible sources.

1.Nissin Top Ramen

This is a vegan noodle brand that offers Soy Sauce and Chili flavors and is certified as a vegan brand. It is most popular in North America.

2.Koyo

Koyo is a vegan noodle brand with a variety of flavors to select from. These noodle flavors include ginger, Shiitake Mushroom, garlic pepper, and lemongrass ginger.

3.Thai Kitchen

Thai Kitchen is a well-respected vegan noodle brand.  Revered for mouth-watering and well flavored vegan noodles and sauces.

Thai Kitchen actually offers the option of getting instant ramen in a bowl. You can of course also get it in a package.

The variety of flavors it boasts of includes Spring Onion, Garlic and Vegetable, and Thai Ginger.

4.Crystal Noodle

Crystal Noodle is a vegan noodle brand with a protein-rich Spicy Tofu ramen bowl. It is 100% vegan.

5.Lotus Foods

Lotus Foods Rice Ramen is a collection of vegan noodles with various flavors that are also 100% vegan.

PREPARING VEGAN RAMEN

Now that it is established that vegan ramen exists, the next section will give an overview of what is required to prepare it.

We promise that the requirements are simple and straightforward to follow if you take notes and follow through.

This will also allow us to do away with the flavor sachets that may sometimes contain beef and other non-vegan chemicals.

We will list and describe everything that needs to go into the process.

Vegan Noodles

As with any packaged commercial product, check the ingredients on the pack to see if there are no non-vegan additives to the noodles.

For the benefit of the doubt, it is wise to do a check for any non-vegan ingredients such as eggs.

In most instances, you can trust that rice and soba noodles are vegan. In many cases, they can also be gluten-free and rich in fiber.

Another good way to verify products is to check if they are certified by PETA.

Vegetables

Even though vegan does not necessarily always mean vegetarian, what would vegan ramen be without the veggies?

Not only do they add more nutritious value in the form of vitamins to the meal, but they add that organic flavoring to the meal.

Brittle vegetables such as cabbage and carrots can be sliced and diced into cubes or strips that allow them enough surface area to absorb the broth and enhance the overall flavor.

It’s a game of surface area to volume ratio.

Some of the ones you can try are Carrots, broccoli, spinach, corn, green onion, bean sprouts, or ginger.

The Broth

What would vegan ramen be without the broth?

The miso-based broth will certainly add a bit more thickness to the dish. The vegetables should be allowed to simmer with it in a mix of miso paste.  

Garlic oil and additional spices can then be added.

Other options can be lime juice, coconut milk, soy sauce, sriracha, sesame oil, or nori.

Add Some Vegan Protein

A sundry of vegan proteins exist to choose from (we also have a lot of detailed information on some of them in this blog).

For the sake of this article, we would recommend tofu as a suitable protein additive to vegan ramen.

Tofu has the ability to soak up the flavorings it’s immersed in. It will also ensure a balanced diet by providing good plant protein.

Make sure it’s sliced into pieces and fry it in a pan perhaps with grape seed oil using moderate heat.   

You can also try a variety of strategies with other plant proteins to keep it vegan.

The Topping

Cooking is an art and topping makes the meal more appetizing by adding beauty and aesthetic.

Something you would probably snap an Instagram picture of and hashtag #veganlife perhaps.

At the last stage of preparation definitely want to add a vegan topping, it can easily be crushed peanuts, fried shallots, sliced onions, or sesame kids. It’s really up to you and it’s your work of art.

For the reference purpose only see this video to get a wholesome idea of how to make Ramen (As I say in my posts “every dish is a creativity, make yours too”)

FAQs

In Conclusion

We can save animals from exploitation and eat healthy without giving up taste-bud-friendly delicacies. The vegan journey requires a good affinity for knowledge and universal harmony.

Please continue to read more articles and play your part by sharing them on your social media channels.

Leave a Comment